St Barnabas Summer Proms 2010

The third series of St Barnabas Summer Proms was held from Monday July 19th to Friday August 6th 2010, with 12 concerts – 9 evening and 3 lunchtime concerts.

Monday 19th July 7.30 pm
Hugh Mather (piano)
An all-Chopin recital, to celebrate the composer’s 200th anniversary. Programme included
Scherzi nos 2 & 3, Fantasy in F minor, Ballade no 3, Polonaise in A flat Op 53, Waltz Op 18 etc.

Wednesday 21st July 7.30 pm  Fenella Humphreys (violin)
Alexis White (piano)
Beethoven : ‘Spring’ sonata
Schubert : Sonatine in D
Gershwin/Heifetz : 3 preludes
Ravel : Tzigane
Friday 23 rd July 1.0 pm
Kokila Gillett (violin)
James Sherlock (piano)
Franck : Sonata
Sarasate : Zigeunerweisen
Friday 23rd July 7.30 pm
Sarah Williamson (clarinet)
Pauline Lowbury (violin)
Clara Biss (violin)Matthew Jones (viola)
Simon Williamson (cello)Mozart : Clarinet Quintet in A
Weber : Clarinet Quintet in B flat
Brahms : Clarinet Quintet in B minor
Monday 26th July 7.30 pm
The Badke String Quartet
Graham Caskie (piano)
Haydn : String Quartet Op 76/2
Mozart : String Quartet K499
Chopin : Piano Concerto no 1

Wednesday 28th July 7.30 pm
David Le Page (violin)
Chris Windass (viola)
Matthew Sharp (cello)
Viv McLean (piano)
Mozart : Piano Quartet in G minorBrahms : Piano Quartet in G minor 
Friday 30th July 1.00 pm
Tim Lowe (cello)
Rosie Richardson (piano)
Boccherini : Sonata in A
Brahms : Cello Sonata in F
Schumann : Adagio and Allegro

Friday 30th July 7.30 pm
The RSK Opera Gala with
Elinor Rolfe Johnson (sop)
Helen Evora (mezzo)
Anando Mukerjee (tenor)
Sam Queen (baritone)
Charles Economou (piano)
Monday 2nd August 7.30 pm
Viv McLean (piano)
Beethoven : ‘Tempest’ sonata
Chopin : Ballade no 1 in G minor
Debussy : 3 preludes
Gershwin : Rhapsody in Blue
Wednesday 4th August 7.30 pm
The Ibuki Piano Trio
Beethoven : Piano Trio in E flat
Tchaikowsky : Piano Trio in A minor
Friday 6th August 1.00 pm Alexander Soares (piano)
Debussy : Images Book 2
Liszt : Ballade no 2
Chopin : Mazurkas Op 17 nos 3 &4
Chopin : Polonaise-Fantasie Op 61
Friday 6th August 7.30 pm
‘The Last Night of the Proms’ Gala all-stars concert
With Jiafeng Chen (violin), Viv McLean (piano), Ashok Klouda (cello), Masa Tayama (piano), Anando Mukerjee (tenor), Sarah Williamson (clarinet), Hugh Mather (piano), Charles Economou (piano) etc
Solo items, and all the traditional ‘Last Night’ items, including ‘ Land of Hope and Glory’, ‘Rule Britannia’ and ‘ Jerusalem ‘.